International Trauma Life Support (ITLS) Advanced/Basic

TheĀ ITLS Basic Provider courseĀ is for basic level providers only. Lectures include: patient assessment; trauma in children; airway management; chest, head, spinal, extremity, pregnancy and abdominal trauma; burns; trauma cardiopulmonary arrest and load and go; trauma in the elderly and patients under the influence. Skills Stations include: patient assessment; primary and secondary surveys; spinal immobilization; basic airway management and scenario practice. Prerequisites:
  • First Responder (FR)
  • Emergency Medical Responder (EMR)
  • Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) or Primary Care Paramedic (PCP)
  • Practical Nurse (PN)
  • Registered Psychiatric Nurse (RPN)
The ITLS Advanced Provider Course is for advanced level providers only. Lecture content is the same as the ITLS Basic or Combined courses. Information on advanced level patient care is required lecture material.T he Advanced Airway and IV/Chest Decompression skills stations will be included in course. A physician may also be on hand for evaluation. This intense course designed for physicians and allied health care professionals, focuses on the early recognition and treatment of critical trauma situations. It incorporates practical sessions in patient immobilization and transport, and then progresses to in-hospital care techniques including incubation, intraosseous insertions, and chest decompression. This course combines short lectures and practice sessions. Prerequisites:
  • Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic (EMT-P) or Advanced Care Paramedic (ACP)
  • Emergency Medical Technician-Advanced (EMT-A) or Intermediate Care Paramedic (ICP)
  • Registered Nurse (RN)
  • Physician
Recertification: Required within 3 years

About Author: